Awesome broth & JL’s Pumpkin soup!!

Well colds come and go. But they sure are a pain to get through. I’ve had a cold for about two days and it just doesn’t want to give up! I was laid up yesterday and still have a head ache going. Don’t you just hate days like that?

Luckily, a few things have gotten me through those times when I have not been doing so well. Rest (lots of it), tea, and soup!

I could blog about sleeping all day long but that would bore all of you readers to death! And the tea was just some loose leaf I found in a generic brand. Nothing special. Just green tea with a bit of lemon juice. So lets go on to the soup!

Pacific foods saves the day with their organic soups! I found a small single serving of Pacific Foods vegetable broth on sale for a dollar fifty. Checking the ingredients to make sure it was vegan, it seemed to show promise. Carrots, celery, thyme, and a whole bunch of other whole-food goodness. No preservatives or anything. So why is such an amazing soup on sale? I guess just for my lucky finding!

Trying this stuff, it tasted amazing! The seasonings were just right in it and it was absolute bliss in my sore-throated state. Just poured the small thing of it into a coffee mug, heated it up, and I was good to go. I’ll buy the full sized version next time!

Now the next morning, all of my symptoms returned. A little vegetable soup was not just going to do it. I needed something with more body and a bit more of something solid in it. So I tried the JL Goes Vegan Pumpkin-Tofu Soup (to go with my fall pumpkin craze). This is EXACTLY what my body was craving for. A little bit of  density from the tofu, that creamy pumpkin texture, and that awesome flavor from aminos and kale. I made two servings and gobbled them both down like they were nothing!

So after asking the mastermind behind the soup, JL said I could post her recipe! Isn’t she wonderful? She has some amazing posts out there. Whether you like this soup or not, you should check her site out at http://jlgoesvegan.com . So here is her recipe for vegan pumpkin-tofu soup!!

She made it in a measuring cup.

“JL’s Easy Tofu Pumpkin Soup
Serves 1

  • 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 block of tofu, pressed and diced
  • 1/4 red pepper, diced
  • Splash of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • dash of hot curry
  • 2 cups raw kale
  • 2T cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup veggie stock

Steam the kale (I used a Pampered Chef steamer: a splash of water, 1 minute in the microwave).  Add all ingredients into a 2 cup measuring cup. Cover with a piece of wax paper.  Microwave for 3 minutes.”

Thank you JL for letting me post this recipe. It was one of the best soups I have ever had! (And i’ve had a lot of soup)

And for you readers, sorry i didn’t take my own pictures of the soup. It was gone before i even got my camera out! Yeah. Its that good. But all the credit for this amazing credit goes to JL and I would seriously recommend checking out her blog. So what are you still doing here? Go see what other awesome recipes she has in store!

Soup-Drinking Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

6 thoughts on “Awesome broth & JL’s Pumpkin soup!!

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the soup, Andrew! I hope you’re feeling better!

    1. Thank you! And i feel much better after the soup 🙂

  2. hello!This was a really brilliant post!
    I come from roma, I was luck to look for your theme in bing
    Also I learn much in your topic really thanks very much i will come later

    1. Well thank you. The idea was to open up your mind so you could understand what is going on in the fishing industry. Glad you like it 🙂

  3. Pumpkin and tofu – some of my favorite ingredients! Looks yummy!

    1. It was delicious! JL has some other awesome posts too. But i would definably recommend trying it 🙂

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close