Pumpkin Saag

Saag is a spinach based dish that is supposed to be rather creamy and have some sort of indian spices mixed into it. I had never heard of this dish before, let alone made it. So here goes nothing!

The Pumpkin Saag (pg. 184) was not exactly my favorite thing in the world. It had way too much pumpkin and took longer than it should have. I like the idea of roasting a whole pumpkin and all and I loved getting the experience of it but it was just not worth it here. A can of the stuff would have suited me much better and cut off about half the time.

Now this dish is usually made with lamb or something, but thats not exactly vegan. But maybe texturally, some tempeh or crunchy vegetables would be a nice addition to it. But even with the indian spices and served over rice, this was just too much pumpkin for me.

What is your favorite savory pumpkin dish?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Pumpkin-Spiced Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

 

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in One-Pot/Stove Top, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

