Lower Fat Banana Bread

I have to admit, i have tried many banana bread recipes in my life. Some where soft and sweet and delicious. Others were rubbery, bland, and terrible. I’ve tried it with nutmeg, cinnamon, nuts, chocolate, fruit, and even flakes of coconut. But i think i have found my new favorite!

The Lower-Fat Banana Bread (pg 228) was very basic and very easy to make. Just mash some bananas, mix it with your liquid ingredients and sugar, add the flour and leavening stuff, and bake it for about 45 minutes. Let it cool, and tada! Banana bread.

I added some chocolate chips and walnuts into mine. The book gave them each as an option, but i went ahead and added a 1/4 cup of chocolate and 1/2 cup of walnuts. It didn’t label it as an option in the ingredients which i found weird, because it did say to fold them in as an option in the recipe itself. But my measurements worked out perfectly. And not to mention i switched the oil for applesauce. Who needs lower fat when you can have fat-free?!

The bread was soft and very bananaey (yes. Its a word). It wasn’t overly sweet, but didn’t taste bland and i liked the nutmeg touch. I added the walnuts for a bit of extra texture and i stand by my decision. This is probably the best recipe i have ever used.

Next time i’ll probably throw it in some muffin pans and bake it to make my favorite food: Peanut Butter topped Banana-nut Muffins

Do you have a favorite Banana Bread Recipe?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Banana-Muffin Making Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Bread, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lower Fat Banana Bread

  1. vegantickles says:

    Yummy, that bread looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

