Basil-Cilantro Pesto

Herbs are some of my favorite things to work with, for the simple fact that they seem to be able to make any bland dish flavorful. So something herby and creamy like pesto seems to be right up my ally!

The Basil-Cilantro Pesto (pg. 214) was something i really wanted to like, but just couldn’t bring myself to. It smelled delicious and fragrant, but the cilantro taste was just too strong. And there was a bit too much lemon juice in it. It was too citrusey for my taste.

But it was very quick and simple, so i may add some touches to it like less lemon juice and more basil. I loved the almonds in it though. They added a sort of creaminess that i have never gotten in any of my pine nut pesto. It also seemed to somehow brighten it up a bit. Not to mention it was a lot cheaper! I will absolutley add my own touches to this and throw it on my next naan or pizza!

What is your favorite thing to do with pesto?

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook for updates on the Veganomicon Project!

Green & Creamy Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Sauces/Fillings, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

