Horseradish-Dill Sour Cream

Horseradish is one of my favorite things to add to sauces. It just gives you that kick that wakes up in a taste-buds in a whole new way. But this recipe…well…just didn’t do it for me.

I tried the Horseradish Dill Sour Cream (pg. 208) with the Autumn Latkes and i really wanted to like it. I really did. But this stuff tasted like straight up dill. It adds a whole cup of it and just kind of over powers everything.

I did like the horseradish taste, but it just wasn’t enough. It also should be named “sauce”, not “sour cream”. It says it firms up after 30 minutes in the fridge, but mine sat in there for 2 hours and didn’t do much. I will admit it was a bit thicker, but not enough to be called sour cream.

Sorry guys, but this was just a bit too much effort for an unwanted taste. Maybe a bit more tofu and horseradish and a little less dill. Or you could throw in some garlic and onion powder and turn this into a not-so-bad vegan ranch dressing.

Have you had any dishes where one ingredient overpowered the whole thing?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Yuca-Loving Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Sauces/Fillings, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

