Jicama-Watercress-Avocado Salad with Spicy Citrus Vinaigrette

Before making this salad, I was incredibly confused. I didn’t know what jicama or watercress was. But I love trying new things so…here it goes!

The Jicama-Watercress-Avocado Salad with Spicy Citrus Vinaigrette (pg. 83) actually really surprised me. Jicama is a root vegetable so I expected potato, but it actually tastes sweet. Kind of like carrots. And the watercress taste more or less like a bitter arugula which went great with this salad.

Even the spicy citrus dressing was delicious! It tasted kind of asian from the strong flavor of the sesame oil and made the whole thing taste like vegan asian fusion! I love it!

What are some weird combination that work for you in a salad?

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook for updates on the Veganomicon Project!

Seitan-Experimenting Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Salads and dressings, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jicama-Watercress-Avocado Salad with Spicy Citrus Vinaigrette

  1. Rasmus says:

    Weird flavour combinations is my speciality! At least, other people often find them really weird. To me, they are totally natural…

    Some are:
    Black lentils, toasted almonds, strawberries, dandelion leaves and celery (a recipe I created for a radio cooking show).
    Honeydew melon, black beans, chili, tomatoes.
    Peaches, carrots, parsley, sesame seeds.
    Mango, garlic, celery, cabbage.
    Lentils, broccoli, grapes, caraway seeds.
    Celery, chickpeas, cocoa, orange, lots of spices…
    Roasted parsnips, strawberries, rocket, dried apricots.

    And that’s just a few salads. Many of my desserts and main dishes are even weirder…

    (My blog is written in Swedish, but there’s a translator in the sidebar if you’d like to read some recipes.)

  2. Rasmus says:

    I actually use strawberries in many of my salads, they are excellent as they add both sweetness and colour and create a sharp contrast to the other ingredients. They can also be puréed and used in a vinaigrette.
    Many other fruits and berries are also used in my cooking, such as various melons, nectarines, pears, apples (very often!), raisins, blueberries and several others, often combined with toasted nuts or seeds.

Leave a Reply

