Simple Seitan

Well this is my very first time making Seitan and I’ve heard such great things about it. How it is chewy like meat and tastes delicious in main courses. A lot of recipe call for the stuff, so I figured minus well see what all the rave is about.

All I can say about this dish is WOW! Simple Seitan (pg. 131) is pretty much just vital wheat gluten, nutritional yeast, vegetable broth, garlic, oil, and soy sauce! I absolutely love it! I was expecting such a weird taste from it with it being flavored from nutritional yeast and soy sauce, but it came out amazing! I intend to incorporate it into many upcoming recipes so I can’t wait to experiment with the stuff!

Its so easy to make too! Just mix the ingredients, knead it, and let it simmer for an hour.

I gave it to a friend, and he said it was too chewy for his taste. He loved the flavor, just not the texture. But i loved them both!It seems like this stuff would go excellent with mashed potatoes so maybe that could be a good idea for a vegan “meat” and starch combo.

Have you ever tried seitan? What is your favorite thing to do with it?

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook for updates on the Veganomicon Project!

Seitan-Experimenting Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Tempeh/Tofu/Seitan, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple Seitan

  1. Noelle says:

    I have made a Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich using Seitan! Slice seitan in thin slices and fry with onions and peppers and top with Daiya cheese. YUMMMMM!

  2. Dani says:

    I first discovered seitan last year while on my one-year anniversary trip with my husband. We ate at our very first vegan/vegetarian restaurant and I had seitan with a bourbon and nut crust on the outside. I was in heaven. I’ve had it a few times since then. It takes a while to make on the stove and it’s hard to knead the dough, but I found a recipe for make it in a crock pot that is much easier. I haven’t tried any complicated recipes with it, like breading it and frying it, or making a Philly Cheesesteak, but hubby and I recently moved and I have a little more space to try things, so I’m excited!

    • healthfreax says:

      Wow. It sounds like your first seitan adventure was an excellent one. Bourbon and nut crusted sounds delicious! I may have to try that with some of the pecans i have laying around!

Leave a Reply

