Corn And Edaname-Sesame Salad

Salads are kind of awesome in my opinion. So crisp and clean tasting, you end up feeling really healthy after devouring one. Its like your whole body has been cleansed of that chocolate cake you just ate and you can run a hundred miles or something.  Not to mention that they taste delicious and satisfying when done right.

The Corn Edaname-Sesame Salad(pg.82) definitely qualifies. Very simple and delicious, this little Asian dish may be one of the easiest salads to make. Boil some shelled Edaname, boil some corn, make the Asian dressing, toss everything together with sesame seeds, and let it chill in the fridge. That’s it! Very easy.

I am not exactly the biggest dressing fan. I’m one of those weird people who like eating a plain pile of greens when the mood strikes. But the dressing here is absolutely delicious. I think the sesame oil in it plays a huge roll but whatever it is, it really brings the whole salad together. It could even be used as an Asian dipping sauce!

I usually prefer giant salads as meals instead of  tiny side salads, but I can imagine serving this on the side of a stir-fry or something.   I served mine on top of spinach, but I think it would go really well on top of some kale as well.

What are your favorite salad bases? Spinach, Arugula, Mixed greens?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Asian-salad noming Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Salads and dressings, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corn And Edaname-Sesame Salad

  1. Carol says:

    This looks yummy :O I never tried edamame salad before, but maybe I should give it a chance…
    My salads mostly consist of different types of lettuce, tomatoes and cucumber. Sounds a little bit boring, but I like it 🙂

  2. This looks delicious. I eat salads as a meal if it’s filled with beans (or tofu or nuts) and a grain.

  3. Elisabeth says:

    I like mixed greens! I love this salad! I made it several times and even changed it up a bit. I add some cherry tomatoes (that I cut in half) and black beans for a full meal and wonderful colors. The yellow corn, green edamame, red tomatoes and black beans look amazing together, plus it is more filling.

Leave a Reply

