Jelly Donut Cupcakes

Sometimes you just need a jelly donut. But wait. Maybe you need a cupcake. No. Lets get a jelly donut. So jelly filled and delicious! But the cupcake looks so good and is that muffin shape I know and love.

Why not have both? For my most recent recipe, I decided to go for it and make the Jelly Donut Cupcake (pg. 253). I must say, they were quite delicious! Even my little brothers who were picky about vegan food tended to gobble these things up! They had a great nutmeg flavor to them and the jelly just added maybe a sense of healthiness to the whole thing.


I ate mine when they were still warm and liked it better that way, but my mom said she wasn’t a big fan of warm jelly so she let hers cool in the fridge for a bit. To me, they didn’t taste very much like donuts but maybe a little powdered sugar would help. Next time, I think I might add a little crunchy peanut butter and some fresh fruit to the equation! They weren’t much of cupcakes in my opinion without frosting, but they were delicious.

Do you have a favorite cupcake recipe? Mind sharing?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Health Freax Unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Desserts, Veganomicon Project. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jelly Donut Cupcakes

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I made the same Jelly Donut Cupcakes few months ago. They were so easy and delicious! My jelly didn’t sink to the middle as it was supposed to either. I ate most of them still warm, I could not resist. I didn’t want to wait until the next day as the cookbook suggested 🙂 I sprinkled some powdered sugar on the top and it was to die for.

  2. Mel says:

    My absolute favorite vegan cupcake recipe is for pumpkin chocolate chip cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World – page 126 if I remember correctly. I make them year-round, and they are a favorite of many vegan food skeptics in addition to my veg friends. I don’t like them with the suggested cinnamon glaze because I am big on frosting, so I usually dollop them liberally with vanilla buttercream icing (also in the same cookbook).

  3. April says:

    I made these jelly donut cupcakes a while back as well – glad to see/hear that mine weren’t the only ones to have the jelly not sink all the way to the middle; mine looked just like yours! Really tasty, though I agree that they’re a bit more muffin-y than donut-y. My favorite cupcakes so far have been the Mexican Hot Chocolate cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World. I am complete rubbish at making nice fluffy icing, so I appreciate the fact that those can be made with just cinnamon, cocoa, and sugar sprinkled on top and they still taste amazing!

Leave a Reply

