Blueberry Corn Pancakes

I am a huge fan of breakfast! Brunch foods are my absolute favorite. So as I begin my project of blogging through Veganomicon this year, why not start the first recipe with the first meal of the day?


Blueberry  Corn Pancakes (pg. 76) were the first recipe chose from Veganomicon and all I can say is wow. This was a great first pick! As common as it is, I’ve never used cornmeal in a pancake before so I was kind of new to the concept. But this thing really started off the project with a satisfied stomach! The texture was awesome, and the color was beautiful. They just look like your normal every day pancake, but boy did I sure get a surprise.

Biting into one of these, you get that wonderful texture from the cornmeal but it isn’t overpowering due to the flour added in. The flavors of the blueberries and lemon zest may make this one of my new favorite pancake recipes! I hate maple syrup on top of pancakes, but this recipe uses only two tablespoons of it as a sweetener. If Isa & Terry make pancakes this good, I cannot wait to see what else they have in store for me!

What is your favorite pancake recipe?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Health Freax unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Brunch, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blueberry Corn Pancakes

  1. Emma says:

    Great recipe to kick off. I made these the other week but with blackberries as I have so many in the freezer from mega summer picking. I don’t often make pancakes but these pumpkin ones http://bread-and-honey.blogspot.com/2008/05/tuesday-morning-breakfast.html are next on my list!

Leave a Reply

