SuperFoodz # 22- Coconut

Coconut is one of the most delicious things I can think of when it comes to food I experienced in Hawaii during those 8 years I lived there. Now the consistency isn’t my favorite, but I love the flavor and think its delicious incorporated into some of my favorite foods. Not only that, but it is also healthy enough to have made SuperFoodz # 22.

Besides being high in protein, this tropical nut is great for digestion. The “meat” of the coconut is good for intestinal parasites that we get from eating food that’s gone bad, and coconut water is good for keeping that bladder and urinary track regular. It is also high in good fats to help keep your skin and hair nice and beautiful. Coconut oil has been shown to be great for the hair and skin as well as sunburns and scratches. Its vitamin E content is very high, making it that much better for your skin!

When it comes to coconut milk, So Delicious makes probably my favorite brand. It is so rich and creamy, and I love to use it in cooking over almost any other milk. I love the rich flavor and complexity to it.

Now if you are a big faux “meat” person, Vegan Good Things has an awesome recipe for coconut “bacon”. Throw it on your next sandwich, and you instantly have a vegan BLT!!

But for my recipe today, I made it from Tal Ronnen’s book The Conscious Cook. He has a recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip butter cake that I absolutely love. I have only once followed the recipe exactly and got beautiful results, but just had to mix It up a bit my next time making it. So here is my recipe for Coconut Peanut Butter Cake!

Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cake

Ingredients:
2 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour
1 c. dark brown sugar
1 c. chunky peanut butter
1/2 c. applesauce
2 tbsp. flax seed
1 c. coconut milk
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
2 tbsp. vanilla extract
1/4 c. vegan semi-sweet choc. chips.
1/3 c. shredded coconut

Method:
-preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease an 9×9 baking dish with olive oil.

-combine the flour, sugar, peanut butter, and applesauce until it is a crumby mixture. Set a cup of it aside.

-In a small bowl, whisk the flaxseeds with 1/3 c. cold water until it becomes stiff. Then add it, your milk, baking soda, baking powder, and vanilla to your bigger crumb mixture. Stir well, but don’t overwork it. Fold in your chocolate chips and coconut.

-Pour your batter into your baking dish and sprinkle your second crumb mixture over it. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

-Let it cool to room temperature before cutting. Serve and enjoy!

 


I love how much healthier this dish is apposed to most of dense cakes. The applesauce replaces the oil, so its also a lot lower in fat. Yet it is still delicious enough for the sweetest of teeth to enjoy.

What is your favorite thing to do with coconut?

Palm Tree-Hugging Health Freax Unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipe, SuperFoodz and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SuperFoodz # 22- Coconut

  1. leinana says:

    I haven’t made that recipe from the Conscious Cook yet, but your version sounds amazing, I think I’ll have to try it first!

  2. Edie says:

    I love So Delicious coconut milk and use it in all of my baking. Did you use it in this recipe, because the ingredients just say “coconut milk”? I really want to make this cake, it looks so scrumptious in your photo, and I want to be sure. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

