Wholly Wholesome and amazing pies!

Oh what would a day be without a delicious pie? Pumpkin goodness in the fall.  A fruit filled deliciousness in the summer. Cheesecake and chocolate….well…those can make my day all year round!

Now I am a homemade everything type of guy. But sometimes, I just need something in my freezer for when I need to bake this pie within an hour of it going out the door or having guests over. The only pie I have ever trusted with this duty is Wholly Wholesome! I know that they will do it right!


I first discovered their pie crusts at the Whole Foods store and grabbed a couple of the whole wheat ones. I needed to check the ingredients to make sure it was vegan, and what I saw totally took me by surprise. Not only was this wonderfully priced crust vegan, but I could understand every ingredient in it! No weird scientific names that were created in some lab over at Area 51. No weird processed stuff that will make me wake up feeling like I suddenly have cancer.  Nope. Nothing in it but organic whole wheat flour, organic palm oil, water, organic cane sugar, and salt. That’s it! Yet this crust is the only non-homemade one I would ever use. I bet it is homemade. I bet some sweet old southern lady hand pressed each and every one of these crusts to add that special touch to make them taste of perfection!. This is actually the crust I used to my pumpkin pie recipe a while back. My favorite pumpkin pie recipe as a matter of fact! What a coincidence!

But then one day, I was walking around Whole Foods looking for the usual pie crust, when I noticed they made pies too! And cookies and cheesecakes and a whole bunch of other stuff! Wow, they can just do it all! Again with the whole ingredients. Now their fruit pies and non-dairy pumpkin pie are the only vegan ones, but that’s good enough for me! Now I know its fall and everything and pumpkin pie would be the typical choice, but I felt like something a bit different. So blueberry pie it is!

This pie was delicious! The filling was incredibly sweet and definitely something to satisfy a sweet tooth.

The crust wasn’t that whole wheat crust I was expecting, but instead a delicious and buttery (vegan of course) wheat crust that both holds up the bottom, and coats the top! Now with how sweet this thing was, I was expecting sugar as the first ingredient. Or maybe flour or something. But nope. Blueberries all the way! Wow. This pie really was Wholly Wholesome! It was a bit sweet for me to eat alone, but definitely an amazing products to help introduce a friend or guest to veganism!

What is your favorite kind of pie?

Pie-Eating Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Product, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wholly Wholesome and amazing pies!

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I love Wholly Wholesome pies. My local Whole Foods sells them baked sometimes, but mostly they only have the apple pie. In the freezer they have more options and I have tried the cherry, the pumpkin and the apple. So far I love the apple and the cherry. I haven’t tried the blueberry yet, but after reading about it from you it is on my list to buy.

  2. Never heard of this brand, so I should stop by Whole Foods to look for it.

    My favorite pie is probably pumpkin, followed by bean pie. There was a place called Veggie Castle that mad a nice vegan cheese cake and that was a favorite. Alas, they’re no longer around…

  3. Dani says:

    Oh, I will look for these at Whole Foods! Our closest one is 30 minutes away.

    I’m not a huge fan of pie, but my mother-in-law makes a killer apple pie. After that, I guess I’d say pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

