Vegan Blogger Smoothie

When I began my journey as a vegan, I got very little support. My parents were basically just thinking “Oh. He’s a teenager. He’ll grow out of it”. And with our constant trips to McDonald’s, it wasn’t the easiest thing to do. 16, vegan, and in a very carnivorous family. Wow. This was going to be interesting.

I actually started everything after a hunting trip. A friend of mine had gone vegetarian as a cleanser and he said it worked wonders. He still eats meat to this day though. On the camping trip in November 2009 all we really brought was eggs, bacon, and deli meat. So right after the trip, I went vegetarian. But what with no one taking me seriously, Thanksgiving turkey was forced on me.

I was vegetarian for a while. Most of what I ate was vegan, but peanut butter French toast and ricotta pancakes from one of my favorite restaurants always occupied my mind. In late april, I went for it. I threw away all my yogurt and goat cheese and went straight vegan. It was difficult at first figuring out what to eat, but it got easier and easier. One of my favorite things about it is that I can be so creative with it. Its fun!

Well this blog fits somewhere in there. Being 16, I know how hard it can be for a teenager or just about anyone to make a big change. That’s why I created this site to begin with. To show others that there are awesome choices in this lifestyle and that I am one person loving every minute of it. I know my recipes are simple and I don’t post as often as I’d like due to school and a full time job, but I hope that you all enjoy what I do post.

Now with that being said, there a select few blogs that I have found that have helped me along my journey. So today, I dedicate an awesome smoothie to them! Here is an incredibly healthy smoothie for all of you who have helped me along my journey!

Vegan Blogger’s Smoothie

Ingredients:
½ c. rice milk
¼ c. chopped kale
¼ c. chopped spinach
1/3 c. blueberries
½ tsp. cayenne pepper
1 med. Banana
1 apple (peeled and diced)
1 tsp. pumpkin spice

Method:
-Throw everything in the blender and blend until smooth.

-Enjoy

I am the milk. The base of my vegan life(and this smoothie!).

The kale goes to JL of JLGoesVegan. She has shown me tons of simple recipes that I can even make from a microwave! She is a big kale fan as I have seen and who can blame her? Kale is awesome!

https://i2.wp.com/profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/hs622.snc3/27522_133453216688436_7799_n.jpg

The spinach goes out to Paternal Candor. His site is not all about veganism, but he is a great guy. He has given me a hand in developing my site (though I still have much to learn) and shown me the healthier, greener side of things.

https://i0.wp.com/a0.twimg.com/profile_images/1120325716/Avatar_bigger.png

The blueberries go to Health. Happy. Life who has shown me that a little sweetness never hurt anything and that vegan dessert are possible with a little vegan magic!

https://i0.wp.com/lh6.ggpht.com/_Dwex9AQ8IuA/S-NKqN7SmPI/AAAAAAAAVDU/acyctmtcSpM/hhl-header-780-85-vegan.jpg

The cayenne pepper goes to Vegan Good Things Leinana. When it comes to cooking, she has shown me how to spice things up with a little flavor. Just because food is vegan doesn’t mean it can’t taste good.

https://healthfreax.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/vgt_logo5.jpg?w=300

The apple goes out to Cookin Vegan for showing me that it’s not just a plate of raw vegetables when it comes to dinner. But if you have to eat something raw, an apple a day keeps the doctor  away. Am I right?

https://i1.wp.com/www.cookinvegan.com/Cookin_Vegan/Welcome_files/shapeimage_5.png

The banana goes out to Opera Singer in the Kitchen. With awesome recipes while being a bit crazy sometimes, she has shown me that it can sometime be a good thing to go a little bananas in the kitchen!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_qWcr0sYcSq8/TNBEqBz2YSI/AAAAAAAACak/zlqED7N_BHs/S1600-R/Fall2+(900x401).jpg

And the pumpkin spice goes to IEatTress. She has taught me that even raising a vegan family can be easy, and that cooking from scratch can make some of the best food imaginable!

https://i0.wp.com/ieattrees.com/wp-content/themes/ieattrees-072010/images/footer-img1a.png

I know there are so many awesome blogs out there and I haven’t even begun to scratch the surface of all of those who helped me out along my journey. But thank you everyone who follows me on twitter and face book and special thanks to you reader for encouraging me to carry on.

That’s why we do this, isn’t it? I don’t blog to get a million views, as nice as that sounds. I didn’t go vegan for those who don’t care. I do this for those few who actually care and share this passion I have for amazing food. So thank you for helping me along this journey. Go Vegan!

Vegan Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

Untitled
About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vegan Blogger Smoothie

  1. leinana says:

    Thank you so much for the mention! It is an honor to be included among such great company. I congratulate you on going vegan at 16, it took me much much longer to figure that all out… at any rate I am happy to connect through this community of such inspiring, positive, & compassionate people.

  2. Noelle says:

    Ha ha ha, thanks for the mention. So you think I am a bit crazy, eh? Made me smile. I like being adventurous! 🙂

  3. Jenn says:

    Like Leinana I’m honored to be included in such good company. You should be so very proud of yourself for going vegan at age sixteen. I truly believe that anyone who questions your choice to go vegan at such a young age is most likely someone who has regrets about they’re own choices. Don’t let them project their insecurities on you. We’re never too old or too young to make a positive change. I’m so glad to have connected with you because your progress inspires me to do better 🙂

Leave a Reply

