5-Ingredient Sushi-Bean Salad

So by now, you can pretty much tell I like the idea of sushi in a bowl, right? Don’t get me wrong. The traditional stuff is awesome. I just haven’t really mastered  that quite yet. Its just the few times i tried to wrap it, the nori ended up busting. But maybe I’ve gotten better. I don’ know. Well until i decide to try it again,  just throw the  ingredients in a bowl, and your golden.

The other night, I asked you guys what your favorite cultural cuisine was. I got so many awesome answers, but one specific combo kind of spoke out to me and gave me an awesome idea for this recipe.

If you can’t read it, Noelle states : “I could ear Japanese or Asian food all the time. Well, no, I am torn, maybe Mediterranean food because i love hummus, falafel, bulghur, but then i like sushi, miso, seaweed.”

Mediterranean and Asian huh? Kind of an odd twist, but lets go for it. I made some sushi-bean rice for the fun of it. I made it when I got home from work and didn’t have much cook time, so it’s a bit simple. Nothing fancy. But I guarantee you, it was delicious. Let’s do this!

5-ingredient Sushi-Bean Salad

Ingredients:
1 c. brown rice
1 c. water
1/8 c. tamari (or soy sauce)
¼ c. garbanzo beans
1 sheet of Nori(seaweed)

Method
-Simmer the rice your water until it is all absorbed(or microwave it for about 5 min.).
-Once it is cooked, pour it all into a big bowl. Add in your tamari and beans.
-Rip your nori to shreds and toss it in there.
-Enjoy!

See? Didn’t I tell you it was going to be easy. I know the sushi part is obviously the Asian aspect, but I got the idea for garbanzo beans from hummus. Blend those things up and you got an awesome Mediterranean dish!Though this dish is simple, it may be one of my new favorites for times when there is no time. Enjoy!

What is your favorite 5-ingredient dish?

Simple-dining Health Freax unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

