Sushi Bowl (makes me feel like a ninja)

Yesterday was a very long work day and I was tired. Too tired to make anything difficult, but still didn’t want boring. I wanted spectacularly yet easy. So where do you look when you have no idea what’s to cook, but need some sort of idea? Why, the cookbook shelf of course. Or just grab the first book you can and scan the index for something simple…..


Just the book title “Super Natural Cooking”  caught my attention. No, it doesn’t teach you how to make spinach float in mid-air (that’s in my other cookbook). This entire book by Heidi Swanson is about using the simplest of ingredients to make the best tasting, yet healthiest foods you can imagine. Sounds like my kind of cooking. No processed junk. Just flavor. Ya dig?


Well vegan food is a lot of the time thought of as either a plate of raw vegetables or some sort of food from another culture like Asian or Indian. While you can make about anything vegan (even pizza), the Sushi Bowl with Toasted Nori, Avocado, and Brown Rice sounded exactly like what I was craving for. Eating Asian food kind of makes me feel like a ninja. Know what I mean?

It’s a very simple, yet very delicious. Avocado, tofu, nori, onion, and sesame seeds on top of brown rice with a recipe for citrus-soy dressing to bring it all together. Tastes a lot like one big bowl of awesome sushi! Simply elegant, just as I desired. And because its not a giant bake or something, you only have to make as much as you need! How convenient. I made two servings of it. One for dinner, and one for work the next day.

What is your favorite cultural cuisine?

Sushi-Noming Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sushi Bowl (makes me feel like a ninja)

  1. YUMMY! Sounds amazing. My favourite cuisine would have to be Mexican. Or Indian. Or Thai. Or Chinese. Glad I don’t have to pick just one!
    Happy MoFo’ing.
    🙂

  2. Ruby Rose says:

    That looks delicious – I never think to make Asian food when I’m tired and in a rush, and so end up with toast instead – I think you might inspire me to be a bit more organised with my store cupboard. RR x

  3. Noelle says:

    I could eat Japanese or Asian food all the time.Well, no, I am torn, maybe Mediterranean food because I love hummus, falafel, bulghur, but then I like sushi, miso,seaweed.

    I am a mess. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

