And so it begins…(Veg Mofo 2010)

Hey guys! Welcome to my first Vegan Mofo post! Yeah. I know. My very first one. How exciting! (well…for me anyways.)

Well some of you may not know what Vegan Mofo is, so let me give you guys a little glimpse. Short for Vegan Month Of Food, it was started by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Romero of the PPK (Post Punk Kitchen). It’s the month where vegans blog and read about awesome food non-stop(if you aren’t doing it already). Sounds pretty cool, doesn’t it? It’s usually in October, but this year they did a little switch up. So starting today, November 01, the 2010 Vegan Mofo begins!

Well I have never really done a post about why I started this blog or who I am, so how about I start this month off with that?  I know a lot of you don’t want to hear about a vegan teenager people could care less about, so I’ll try to keep it short.

My Story

My name is Andrew Morrison and I started off with a problem. A weight problem, like most of America today. Thing was, I actually wanted to do something about it instead of just wishing. A friend of mine tried vegetarianism for a year and claimed they felt so much healthier after doing it. They eventually stopped it, but it gave me an idea. Starting on January 21st of 2010, I decided to give it a shot. I had wanted to do it earlier, but a friend invited me over for dinner and we had lasagna…no, not meatless lasagna.

I didn’t eat cheese, but did have things like ricotta pancakes, goat cheese, and a few baked stuff . But one day I decided that if i were to do this, i needed to go all the way. Health was something i needed to be dedicated to. So I did it. In early April, I was a vegan. And from that January to April, I lost 80 lbs. I didn’t feel weak at all and actually had more strength and energy. I learned to do it without problems by reading other blogs and they helped so much with recipes and such. They helped out so much!

Veganism is a lot more than just a plate of raw vegetables. It is a complete life style full of new discoveries and foods I had never even heard of before, but now love. Yes, you can make awesome cookies without eggs. Yes, you can have the best muffins you have ever tried without milk. Yeah, pizza is still the best food in the world with a little Daiya cheese on it. Heck, even Oreos and most Pop-Tarts are vegan. And so is this awesome pumpkin pie i made last a few weeks back:

I don’t eat junk all the time and though compassion has become another reason for staying vegan, health is still a big thing to me. I am going to be in my body for a while, so minus well take care of it, right? I try to keep things as natural as possible. I don’t even own any all purpose flour. I only use whole wheat. And I love making stuff from scratch.

Sorry root beer. You got it all wrong…..

So that was the purpose behind creating my blog. To show others that food can be vegan, healthy, and still be delicious as i was shown through the many blogs google had to offer.

So help me on my journey as we explore the deepest oceans and have the most amazing adventures in everything food. I am 16, I’m a vegan, and I’m loving every minute of it…..

Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And so it begins…(Veg Mofo 2010)

  1. kittee says:

    welcome to vegan mofo and to veganism.

    xo
    kittee

  2. Great Vegan MoFo post, Andrew! You’re doing great on your journey and helping people along the way! What a great community, yes?! Happy World Vegan Day!

  3. Thank you for sharing your story, Andrew! And I love the shirt! 🙂

  4. Allyson says:

    awesome story! you are a true inspiration! Happy MoFoing!!!

  5. Great shirt!! I want one and great post too! Make sure you hastag your posts so you get more traffic #veganmofo 😀

Leave a Reply

