Pumpkin Pickin….Chili Lickin!

Fall is here! But your probably knew that. If you didn’t, just look outside your window at the beautiful color change of the leaves falling onto the ground! it’s a beautiful sight, isn’t it?

Well this weekend I got to go to one of my first pumpkin patches. I know right? Sixteen years old and don’t remember ever going to a pumpkin patch. What’s wrong with me? Well my family picked a pumpkin and claimed it off limits for cooking or carving. I just couldn’t have that, so I bought my own. It was a bit more expensive than the ones at the grocery store, but its all about the experience right?

The patch wasn’t very big, but it was still pretty cool.

Whether orange or white, we are just pumpkins in this great big patch of diversity, am i right?

Well for those chili fall days, what better to warm us up than a bowl of hot chili that you made that morning in your slow cooker? The stuff is awesome! All you need to do is dish it up that night and eat it! So simple. Well my family wanted to make their meaty chili last night. I want to participate in family traditions too, ya know. So I made my own version. It was so simple and delicious, that I just had to share it with you guys! So here is my recipe for vegan chili!

Simple Vegan Chili

Ingredients:
2-15oz cans of diced tomatoes (with juice)
15 oz black beans
15oz  kidney beans
15 oz  pinto beans
1/2 c. bulgur.
2 tbsp cayenne pepper (optional)

Method:

-Pour the two cans of tomatoes into your slow cooker. Then fill the empty cans with water and pour that in.

-Pour in everything else but the bulgur and set it to cook on low heat for 4 hours.

-Within the last hour of cooking, pour in the bulgur.

-When ready, dish up and enjoy!

Here is a picture of where i added too much bulgur. I also threw some Follow Your Heart cheddar and a few mushrooms on it. It was delicious!

I know it seems like it was going to be watery, but the water your put in is for the bulgur. It soaks liquid up like a sponge, so you needed the extra cans full to help keep everything else nice and stewy. If you like pilafs that taste like chili, then add a bit of extra bulgur. Its less soupy and great for packed lunched.

What is your favorite ingredient to put in chili?

Slow-Cooking Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Pickin….Chili Lickin!

  1. Oh, that chili looks GOOD! I love chili! I made a yummy one Sunday, posting it tomorrow. I’ll keep this recipe handy now, too!

Leave a Reply

