SuperFoodz # 15- Celery Root

In my local grocery store, I recently discovered a new amazing food that I honestly never knew existed. Celery root or celeriac kind of looks like a giant rock-hard blob of dirt with celery sprouting from it at first but after some research, it made its way as today’s Friday Superfood!

This large root vegetable can be used just about anywhere a recipe asks for potato, but it isn’t going to over-load your glycemic index (meaning, its not as fattening as potatos.) Its incredibly high in fiber, potassium, magnesium, and B6. It also has tons of vitamin c in it, and absolutely no fat!

It can be used anywhere you would plan on using potato and cooks the same way. But what makes it better than a potato? Well for every cup of celery root, you only have about 42 calories. A potato (less than a cup) has 118. That potato there also has 27 carbs while celery root has only 9. But they have the same amount of fiber! Awesome!

Well for today’s recipe, I wanted to do something non-traditional with this. Today is Friday and in my home, that means pizza night (whole wheat of course). With the rise of potato pizzas recently, I kind of went off and did my own thing with celery root.  So here is my recipe for celery root pizza!

Celery Root Pizza
Ingredients:
Whole wheat pizza crust
1/2 c. tomato sauce
5 basil leaves
¼ c. spinach
1 celery root

Method:

-Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.

-Microwave the celery root on high for 5 minutes or until it is a little softer. Then slice it into pieces.

-Get out your pizza crust and spread a little bit of olive oil over it. Then pour on half of your pizza sauce and spread it out. Cut the celery root into thin strips and lay them on the sauce. Then put on the spinach.


-Cover your pizza in another layer of sauce. Place your basil on top.

-Place your pizza on a pizza pan and cook it for 5-8 minutes or until your crust is nice and brown.

-Cut into slices and enjoy!

This pizza was pretty awesome if I do say so myself. The flavors in the celery root are a little different, but they are delicious and mix so well with pizza sauce and basil. If only someone did carry-out of this stuff, then they would be getting a lot more business.

Whats your favorite thing to put on pizza?

Pizza-Noming Health Freax Unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipe, SuperFoodz and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SuperFoodz # 15- Celery Root

  1. I don’t think I’ve noticed celery root in the store before. Will have to keep an eye out!

    I love to mash cooked beans into a tomato sauce and spread it over a tortilla, and add some kale, onion and Daiya cheese. Perfect and easy little pizza!

    • healthfreax says:

      Yeah, celery root is hard to come by. But when you do get it, it is wonderful. Treat it just like a potato (after peeling the skin first)
      *sigh*. If only i had a kale supply as big as yours 🙂

  2. As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

  3. branchenbuch says:

    Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

  4. I’ve seen celery root at Whole Foods but always been pretty intimidated because it does look like a big, inedible clump of dirt. But I had no idea it could be used like a potato! I’d love to see you try another celery root recipe and strengthen my resolve to try it =)

Leave a Reply

