Awesome Vegan Choc. Chip Cookies!!!

Chocolate chip cookies are one of the most prized recipes within most households. Bake-sales, bakeries, and home kitchens alike all have their own version of one of the world’s most popular (and in my opinion, one of the most delicious) baked goods there is to offer. Being into the healthiest stuff I can possibly get, my mission was to create the healthiest cookie I could without it tasting like a healthy cookie.

I think I may have succeeded too! My brothers liked it (the ones who eat junk all day) and my mother said it is almost as good as hers! Now we’re talkin! But I don’t know. How about you decide?

Health Freax Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie

Ingredients:
½ c. melted vegan margarine (I used earth balance)
½ c. apple sauce
6 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
¾ c. agave syrup
¼ c. brown sugar
1 tbsp. Ener-g egg replacer (or arrowroot powder)
1 tsp. baking soda
2 c. whole wheat flower
¼ c. flax meal
¼ c. wheat bran
1 ¼ c. chocolate chips

Method:
-Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease a baking sheet (I lightly rubbed a little earth balance on it).
-Pour your margarine, apple sauce, peanut butter, agave, sugar, and egg replacer into a bowl. Mix it until it is smooth.


-Add in the baking soda, flour, flax, and wheat bran and mix it until it is a doughy consistency.

-Fold in the chocolate chips.
-Bake for 5 minutes. The turn the baking pan in the oven 180 degrees and bake for 3 more minutes(or until the edges are a little brown)
-Take them out of the oven and let them sit on the pan for 5 minutes or until the center of the cookies set.
-Transfer them to a cooling rack and let them cool for about another 5 minutes.
-Enjoy

These cookies are awesome! I love them! I even brought them into work and a few people who make fun of my veganism loved them! The hardest part about making these cookies is resisting eating the dough or waiting for them to cool. It makes about 36 tbsp. cookies but I make mine a bit bigger so I got about 24. If you are able to resist eating them all at once, they last about a week in the fridge or two weeks in the freezer.

I am kind of new to cookie making but i am glad they turned out so good! Hope you like them!

What is your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe?

Health Freax Unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Awesome Vegan Choc. Chip Cookies!!!

  1. I used to LOVE chocolate chip cookies! Entenmann’s soft baked, Chips Ahoy, Nestle Tollhouse, homemade, yum!

    I had to cut chocolate from my diet (caffeine), but use carob chips instead. Ever try them?

    Keep an eye on that sugar count. You have a lot in there!

    I’m going to try to make oatmeal raisin cookies again. I made some last week but they were a little mealy. Needed a little less oatmeal and a little milk. I’d try yours, but I don’t have any carob chips on hand. I have to get some and give it a try.

    Best,
    Scott

    • healthfreax says:

      I know the sugar is high in them, but i did that for taste appeal for those who are new to the vegan diet. My preference is maybe just a touch of maple syrup in some oatmeal cookies (2 tbsp for the whole batch!) as i am not quite a sugar addict (but i am a dessert addict, if that make sense)

      I love carob and don’t have chips, but have some powder. I might be able to make some homemade carob chips with that! Thanks!

  2. Your chocolate chip cookies look awesome! From the picture, they remind me of the ones at Whole Foods that are nice and crunchy around the edges. Yum!

  3. Rasmus says:

    I am more or less addicted to choc chip cookies! I always bake them myself and constantly create new recipes that include different spices, nuts, fruits and other flavors. Also, I vary the choice of chocolate, flours and sugars in order to go perfectly with those particular flavors.
    So far there are eight recipes in my blog. My favorite is probably the one with toasted hazelnuts, orange zest and fresh rosemary, or that with vanilla, muscovado sugar and almonds.
    http://vegologi.blogspot.com/2010/03/chocolate-chip-cookies-variation-2.html
    http://vegologi.blogspot.com/2011/01/chocolate-chip-cookies-8.html

  4. Nicole says:

    These were Awesome. I altered them a bit. Ingredients:
    ½ c. melted vegan margarine (I used earth balance as well)
    1 Banana
    15 soaked then drained Pitted Dates
    6 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
    2-3 tbsp water
    1 tsp. baking soda
    2 c. Spelt flour
    ¼ c. flax meal
    ¼ c. Oat bran
    2 tbsp Cacao Powder
    1 tbsp agave
    1 ¼ c. chocolate chips

    Mixed the wet stuff together and folded it into the dry stuff then added the chocolate chips.
    Turned out delicious and not TOO sweet.

Leave a Reply

