Peachy-Pecan Pancakes straight from the apple orchard

Sunday,  I took a trip up to a northern Georgia town known as Ellijay for my cousin’s wedding shower. Driving up there, it was absolutely beautiful. The September rain gently sprinkled down from the heavens over the apple orchards as a small glimpse of the mountains could be sighted in the backdrop. It was amazing.

There were many country stores, orchards, and antique shops up there and they were fun to look through. We stopped by one of the apple orchards and it had a cute little shop off the side of the road. Pumpkins sat in a large wooden box outside as you walked in.
So many different kinds of apples, sweet potato and peaches!

If their jams had less sugar and no pectin, i would have bought about 10 jars!

You could even taste samples of the different kinds of apples!

Well while I was there, they had 5lb bags of peaches for 5 dollars! That’s a pretty awesome deal! So I grabbed a bag and threw it together into the pancake recipe I promised you guys. What better way to end summer than by using produce just before it goes out of season? I can think of none unless you count roast Sweet n’ Sarah marshmallows over a campfire.

Peach-Pecan Pancakes:

Ingredients:

2c. Whole wheat flour
1 ½ c. rice milk  (or another non-dairy milk)
½ c. frozen peaches (or canned)
1/3 c. agave syrup (or maple)
1 c. chopped pecans.

Method:

-Put the peaches in the blender if frozen and pulse until they are mushy.
-Mix the flour with the rice milk and agave.
-Add in the peaches and pecans and stir (do not over stir.)
-Let the batter sit for 5 min. as you heat a greased griddle or pan. (this lets the gluten relax for better pancakes)
-Spoon the batter onto the griddle and cook until you see holes and bubbles begin to show up on top (or the edges begin to brown). Then flip and let it sit for another 3-5 min.


-Throw them on a plate and enjoy!

I am not much of a syrup person. I NEVER put maple syrup on my pancakes. To me, it defeats the purpose of making the pancake itself taste so delicious. I want to taste the complex flavors of the pancake, and not a bunch of sugar. But if I must have something to add, I microwave a mix of cinnamon, agave, and apple juice for a healthier alternative.

I also like to freeze pancakes for a quick breakfast to heat up before work! My absolute favorite thing to do is to heat up a frozen pancake and throw some peanut butter on it. Then put some bananas and another pancake on top for a delicious sandwich.

What is your favorite thing to put on a pancake?

Pancake-Eating Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peachy-Pecan Pancakes straight from the apple orchard

  1. Erika says:

    YUM! I never met a pancake that I didn’t like, but these look extra delightful.

  2. Great post! I want to see a follow up to this topic 🙂

Leave a Reply

