Brocolli-Mushroom and “Alfredo” Bake

Yesterday was such a deliciously wonderful day! Finished off my So Delicious ice cream and fixed a meal that was incredible. I was thinking of ideas for a good Sunday lunch when I remembered a recipe that looked like it would fit what I was craving for in the cookbook “Vegan Yum Yum”: Creamy Broccoli Bake!

But one problem. I didn’t have all of the ingredients. So what do I do when I do not have everything to make a dish? Make it anyways! I did my own thing to try to imitate it, but with my preferences. More mushrooms! Crumbled bread instead of packaged bread crumbs! So here is my recipe for my sinister creation. Came out totally different than expected, but it tasted delicious!

Broccoli & Mushroom “Alfredo” Bake

Ingredients
“Alfredo” Sauce:

¼ c. nutritional yeast
¼. c. unsalted cashews
2 tbsp. tamari(or soy sauce)
2 tbsp. tahini
1. C. soy milk
1tbsp. earthbalance
4tbsp. Corn starch (or arrowroot powder)

Bake:
1 c. orzo
2 ½ c. mushrooms (finely chopped)
2 c. broccoli(chopped in the food processor)
3 slices of bread

Method:
-Put all of the “Alfredo” ingredients into a blender and blend until it becomes smooth and creamy.

-Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

-Cook the orzo according to the package’s directions. The drain.

-Put the orzo, broccoli, and mushrooms into a medium sized casserole dish.

-Pour the “Alfredo” sauce into the dish.

-tear the bread into crumbs and put it over top of everything.

-cover the dish in foil and bake for 25 minutes.

-uncover the dish and bake for another 10 minutes (so everything can get all nice and brown on top)

-Let it cool for 5 mins.

-Enjoy!

This was a great meal! It was so creamy and had many different layers to it’s complex taste. Just how good food should be! And it usually serves about four people, but With me being the only vegan in the house and the only one who eats food this awesome, I guess I have leftovers for a couple days. With such a cheap recipe, that’s just more money in my pocket! Yay for cheap vegan meals!

Broccoli & Mushroom Loving Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brocolli-Mushroom and “Alfredo” Bake

  1. cool, thanks for tweeting this to me!

  2. cookingforaveganlover says:

    this sounds delicious

Leave a Reply

