Waffles, Bread, and a new experience….

Ah, simplicity. A beautiful thing, isn’t it? I have been thinking about simplicity all day and how we can find such joy in the simplest of things. Sitting around and drinking an espresso my mother and I made as we watched Alton brown discuss it on Food Network, or walking into a neighborhood grocery store and thinking of the millions upon millions of culinary possibilities. Loading up the car and then driving back to catch the most breathtaking view of the sunset that you can imagine. What a wonderful day. Ah, I love my life so. The friends and family I encounter both in my life and through my vegan blog are so amazing and dear to me.

So now that I have the poetic side out of my system, lets get on to food! That’s right. Everyone eats it and its probably what you all came to this blog to read about. Well usually I have a pretty tightly bound comfort zone. I like what I am familiar with when it comes to being a vegan, because I know for a fact that it is something I can actually eat! But after reading so many reviews from others, I have decided to stray a bit and discover some new things.

Upon arriving at the grocery store, I was going to buy my usual Nature’s Path “Wildberry” frozen waffles. But next to the box was a brand of something called “Van’s” frozen waffles. And to tell you the truth, the picture on the box looked delicious. After some careful hesitation, I grabbed the box and quickly shoved it into the cart before my mind could change. And boy am I glad I did! I tried them immediately upon arriving home with a bit of peanut butter and agave on them. I must say, these things are amazing.

Van's: The new guy in the crowd

They are not as sweet as the Nature’s Path ones and have an earthier flavor, which is my kind of style! It balanced out the flavors of what I put on them and I loved it!

Mmmmm…..it looks so yummy!

Hey! Where did it go?

There’s our culprit on the run!!!

As far as bread, I usually shop at small bakeries in Atlanta where they make it fresh that morning with a maximum of five ingredients. I know I am getting something special every time. And it tastes so much fresher. But I haven’t been to one of these bakeries in a while and I kind of craved those peanut butter, banana, and spinach sandwiches (I know. Spinach?) that I made for lunch for work so long ago. But today, I decided to give “Food For Life” a try. Many of you may know of their Ezekiel 4:9 bread, but I went with the Seven Sprouted Grain. I’ll be sure to tell you how it tastes tomorrow.

Well anyways, just wanted to share with you some of my most recent discoveries. Anyone have any new products for me to try, leave me a comment below. And don’t forget to check out my waffle/pancake contest. It ends soon!

Mind-Set-Escaping Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Product, Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

