The End’s Beginning

My posts have been getting less and less due to my schedule recently and the Veganomicon Project has been brought to a stand still. I know many of you emailed me and sent me messages implying that you were so looking forward to my reviews on the many recipes Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero has to offer, my with my life containing a full time job and college prep, I am sorry to say that my project must come to a close. That is not to say i won’t review a few recipes here and there. I absolutely will! I just can’t promise i will complete the book any time soon.

The recipes in the book are delicious though and if you are a vegan or even vegan-curious and don’t own a copy, at least pick it up. Maybe jot down a recipe or two from it at the book store that look appealing and try them out. They really are worth looking at. Some have a bit to be desired and there are quite a few errors in the typing of the book, but all in all the tastes are phenomenal!

My Favorites:


Blueberry Corn Pancakes!

Eggplant-Potato Moussaka with Pine Nut Cream!

Seitan with Mushrooms and Spinach!

And of course….

Vanilla Ice Cream!

          When working through the book, I did cook more than a reviewed. I wish I would have done so but dim lighting and the old “meh. I’ll do it later.” or “I’ll remake the recipe another time” tended to cut me short. My reviews were not the greatest, but a true successor of blogging through the book was the lovely couple at http://veganomnom.guyslikedolls.com . They are true champions and if I hadn’t attempted this thing, I wouldn’t have the true appreciation I have for them today. So Joey…Cassie…huge kudos to the both of you and congratulations on your success! (and on finding a rough skinned newt).

As far as my experience, I learned a heck of a lot from this thing! Before going vegan, I barely knew the very basics of cooking and had never stepped foot in a kitchen unless it was to lick the buttery, eggy cookie dough bowl on the counter. With this book, I have learned about grains I never knew existed and techniques have give me a whole new outlook on cooking.

Yeah, I gained about 20 pounds trying to cram a week’s worth of food into a day but it was fun. So now I’m back to my skinny self and ready to take on any challenge my kitchen has to offer. Look out world! Andrew’s back in the kitchen!

Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The End’s Beginning

  1. Andrew! So nice to see you! Hey, you took on a big project and you’re a busy guy. Don’t worry about moving on from it — just keep posting to let us know how you’re doing and what you’re up to!

  2. Sad to hear this! but thanks for all the reviews you’ve done so far – and looking forward to future posts!

Leave a Reply

