Autumn Latkes

I’ve heard of latkes before described as a fried potato pancake that is very popular in the Jewish community, especially during passover. I’m not Jewish, but i am always willing to try something new. But this recipe is that tradition, with a spin on it.

The Autumn Latkes (pg. 53) is a fried pancake made of beets, sweet potato, and carrots. I am not the biggest beet person, but this recipe is actually really good. I kind of cheated by throwing my ingredients in the food processor so it will mix better and the vegetables would be shredded finer. Plus it was an easier clean up than getting out the grater.

As far as latkes, i wasn’t a big fan. It didn’t have enough seasoning to it, and i don’t really care for fried foods. The point of eating your vegetables is to feel healthy, right? Frying them kind of counters that. But i did try it with the Horseradish Dill Sour Cream and applesauce as the book recommended.

If i were to make this again, i would probably just keep everything raw, press it down, and let it chill to set so it wouldn’t take away from the sweetness or healthiness of my vegetables. My dad seemed to like it though so if you do plan to make this dish, definably go the applesauce route. It tasted much better as far as dipping goes.

What is your favorite use for beets?

I will put most of my posts on my Twitter or Facebook, so go follow me for updates!

Yuca-Loving Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Little Meals, Snacks, Veganomicon Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn Latkes

  1. Laura Jill says:

    Great post! I’ve made these yummy latkes, and I’m really enjoying your V’con series. :) Just so you know though, latkes aren’t for Passover, they’re for Hanukkah. :)

    Enjoy!

    LJ

Leave a Reply

