Review: Gardein- Tuscan Breasts

Being vegan, I am asked all the time “Dude! Don’t you ever miss meat?”. And I’m kind of surprised myself that I don’t. The reason I gave up on the stuff in the first place was because I liked it so much to the point of obesity! But once I got used to not having it for so long, I just kind of stopped craving it. But I can also understand wanting something and craving a food with the point of not wanting to give it up. So do you want meat, but don’t want meat? Gardein is the company for you!

I discovered Gardein in my grocery store, but never thought to pick it up. Fake meat? Sounds like it would taste….um…like fake meat. Meh. Not of my interest. I want whole foods and deliciousness straight from nature. Not some chemically processed “meat flavoring”. But when I became part of the vegan community, even the stingiest of vegans were raving about the Gardein. Then I found out Tal Ronnen was partners in starting Gardein and uses the products in some of my favorite dishes from his book “The Conscious Cook”.

*Sigh*. Fine! I’ll try it….

I went ahead and bought the Tuscan Breast for my first shot at trying Gardein, and I must say I was kind of wary. A good vegan meatless meal you cook in the microwave? Who do these people think they are, Amy’s? But to my surprise, it was delicious! The “chick’n” had a nice texture to it that was, well….meaty! The sauce that came with it was a tomato basil sauce that I absolutely fell in love with. This sauce had so much flavor to it, I almost felt guilty eating it. When they say “Tastes like chicken” they really mean it. And there are two breasts and things of sauce per container! Now let me see…where’s the protein content on this thing…? 21 GRAMS?!! Ok. Now I’m scared.

Ingredients: gardein™ chick’n breast: water, soy protein, vital wheat gluten, ancient grains (quinoa, amaranth, millet and kamut®), natural flavors (from plant sources), potato starch, expeller pressed canola oil, pea protein, modified vegetable gum, carrot fiber, beet root fiber, organic evaporated cane juice, yeast extract, sea salt. rub: red bell pepper flakes. sauce: water, tomato paste, onions, garlic, crushed tomatoes, organic evaporated cane juice, expeller pressed canola oil, corn starch, sea salt, vinegar, spices, xanthan gum, chili flakes.

I ate mine on a bed of spinach, and it was delicious! But rice would work well too. Or maybe even in a sammich!

I’m sorry, but I don’t see any fake chemical processed weirdness in there. So this delicious stuff is good for me too? Wow. I think this 16 year old just found a new favorite meat! Step aside USDA. We have a new Gardein food pyramid up in here!!

Have you tried Gardein? Whats your favorite product by them?

Non-Chickin, Finger-Lickin Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Product, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Gardein- Tuscan Breasts

  1. theWGV says:

    Yes Gardein! I’ve used their chick’n in everything from chick’n salad to chick’n and sweet leek pie with chorizo (http://bit.ly/cslpie). I tend to eat it more in recipes than as an entrée itself.

    Chef Tal Ronnen has some killer crazy gourmet recipes that use it, the most ridiculous of all I think is ‘Pine Nut and Basil Sallopini with Lobster Mushrooms and Buerre Blanc Sauce.’ Yeah, intensive, that one. Check out his book The Conscious Cook or his website (www.talronnen.com) for some Gardein dishes that you never imagined possible.

  2. Elisabeth says:

    I love the Gardein food pyramid that you made!
    I love Gardein products! My favorite would be the “BBQ Skewers”, “Chick’n Filets” and “Beefless Tips”. I even made a Christmas dinner recipe using their products. The recipe was recently published in the Vegetarian Times Magazine as one of the contest winning recipes. I put the recipe on my blog so anyone can enjoy it for the holidays (http://bit.ly/fVTjm5)

Leave a Reply

