Creamy Pumpkin Soup

During this beautiful fall weather when the temperature is beginning to drop, I tend to imagine being inside with a cup of tea and a nice big bowl of homemade pumpkin soup. Mmn. Its one of my favorite memories as a kid. But ever since going vegan, a lot has changed. That soup is no longer a package of beef ramen and that tea is no longer soda as it was during my junkfood days. Don’t get me wrong. Junk-food is awesome! If my metabolism was higher, i would be making pumpkin brownies all day long! Sadly, it is what it is.

With my pumpkin craze on the loose, I just had to create a pumpkin soup recipe of my own! Nutmeggy, pumpkiny, creamy goodness. Can’t you just feel the warmth just coursing through your body as you imagine taking a bite? Bliss.


Creamy Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients:

1 15-oz can pure pumpkin
¼ c. vegetable broth
2 tbsp. arrowroot powder
4 tbsp. nutmeg(plus extra for sprinkling)
2 tbsp. cinnamon
1 tbsp all spice
1 pear (optional)

Method:
-In a small bowl, whisk all of the ingredients together. Make sure the arrowroot powder is well dissolved.

-Pour the whisked ingredients into a medium sauce pan and set it to medium heat.

-Cook for about 5-10 minutes or until the soup is the thickness you like (mine took about 4 min for a nice brothy soup.)

-Ladle the soup into bowls . If you chose the optional pear, cut it into cubes (with skin on) and put a few into the middle of the bowl right before serving.

-Sprinkle a little nutmeg over everything and serve.

-Enjoy!

Yep. That did it. This soup is exactly what I need to make my way through fall. And it only took, like, 5 minutes to make depending on how thick you want it! I love extremely cold weather, but who says it still can’t be an excuse to make some awesome soup? I

What is your favorite fall-time soup?

Soup-Warmed Health Freax Unite!
-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creamy Pumpkin Soup

  1. You know I like a quick soup! Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

