Autumn Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

Oatmeal is one of those things that I can just not get enough of. I love it! But sometimes I just don’t have time to make a bowl and actually sit and eat it before work…*sigh*. If only there were a way to do something the night before so that I could easily just grab it out of the fridge on my way to work…

..Oh wait…There is!

Oatmeal bars
are kind of like square cookies if you think about it. They are fun to experiment with and you can put just about anything in them! Just for my obsession of pumpkin during this time of year and peanut butter all year round, I came up with the ones in the recipe below. You can substitute for just about anything you want! Make this recipe yours!

Pumpkin-Peanut Butter Oatmeal Spice Bars:

Ingredients:
1 ½ c. old fashioned rolled oats
1 c. pumpkin
2 c. milk alternative (I used rice)
½ c. peanut butter (creamy preferably)
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
Pinch of brown sugar

Method:
-Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and grease a small baking pan.

-Mix everything together (except brown sugar) and spoon it into your pan. (it may look like a big wet mess but bear with me)

Before Baking:

-Bake for about 15 min. Then sprinkle on the brown sugar.

-Turn oven up to 400 degrees and bake for another 15 min.

-Let the pan cool for 5 min. on a wire rack.

-Enjoy!

These ones are a bit softer then the ones in the recipe. More for a plate than on the go. Just bake them a bit longer if you plan on grabbing one on the way out the door.

And there you have it! My favorite way to eat oatmeal bars! Sometimes I add raisins or apples for breakfast or chocolate chips for a healthy alternative to cookies. Make them any way you want. If you are as big an oatmeal fan as I am, then you are in for a real treat when the leaves begin to change.

What are your favorite things to put into oatmeal?

Oatmeal-2-Go Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

  1. Sounds good- I never end up making oatmeal, but I do have a homemade granola post coming up this week!
    Pumpkin pie spice belongs in everything for the next three months. EVERYTHING! :D

  2. This looks like my kind of “meal” Thanks!

Leave a Reply

