SuperFoodz #8- Carrots

What is big, long and orange and really crunchy? If you guessed a carrot, then congratulations! You know one of the most-bought foods in your produce section. And as I was figuring out today’s Friday SuperFood, I remembered a favorite dish of mine involving carrots. But we’ll get to that in a minute.

Carrots are one of my favorite snacks. Dense and full of fiber, a few of these fill me up with ease. And not only do they clear my hunger, but they also have the vitamin E to help clear up my acne covered skin. I’m not saying a few carrots are the cure to all things facial, but it couldn’t hurt.

Now the myths of carrots being good for your eyes may not be myths at all. In fact, carrots contain beta-carotene in them. This vitamin is processed in the liver as vitamin A. When it travels through the blood and reaches your eyes, it turns to something unpronounceable called “rhodopsin”. But something cool is, rhodopsin is what helps your night-vision. So more carrots can help in those early mornings where you can’t see and end up running head-first in to the bathroom door while getting ready for work. I know I’m not the only one who does it!

Besides being the food with the most beta-carotenes out of any and being full of various things that promote lung, heart, and just over all health, they are also quite tasty. Last night I was feeling in an Italian mood and with trying daya cheese for the first time and falling in love, I decided to incorporate it into my carrot dish.  So enough of the chit-chat. Lets get cooking!

Italian Carrot Bake:

Serves: About 4

Ingredients:
1 c. shredded or finely chopped carrots
½ c. tomato sauce
½ c. your favorite vegan cheese
4 tbsp. basil (optional)

Method:
-Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
-Put your carrots in the bottom of a baking dish of your choice.
-Mix the tomato sauce and the optional basil together and pour over the carrots.
-Sprinkle on a little cheese
-bake for 10 min. or until the cheese is all bubbly.
-Enjoy

I used vegan daya mozzarella and it turned out wonderfully. I even had leftovers for work the next day. It was so simple and easy, that I will probably make it again this week. Feel free to add your own flavors to this dish like garlic or maybe even nutmeg. Make it yours! I just wanted to keep nature at its simplest. But no matter how you make it, I hope you enjoy it!

Superman-Visioned Health Freax Unite!

-Andrew “VegMuffinMan” Morrison-

About healthfreax

Being a relatively new vegan, i am always on the search for new skills, foods, and adventures. So join me on the journey through life as we find new ways to make simple, healthy ingredients taste amazing! I'm a teenager, vegan, and loving it!
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipe, SuperFoodz and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

